1927 Hawthorn Football Club season

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Hawthorn Football Club
1927 season
President J.W. Kennon
Coach Dan Minogue
Captain(s) Clarrie Lethlean
Home ground Glenferrie Oval
VFL Season 1–17 (12th)
Finals Series Did not qualify
Best and Fairest Ern Utting
Leading goalkicker Bert Hyde (41)
Highest home attendance 10,000 (Round 6 vs. Melbourne, Round 9 vs. Richmond)
Lowest home attendance 5,000 (Round 12 vs. St Kilda, Round 14 vs. Footscray)
Average home attendance 7,556

The 1927 Hawthorn Football Club season was the club's 3rd season in the Victorian Football League.

Fixture[edit]

Premiership Season[edit]

Rd Date and local time Opponent Scores (Hawthorn's scores indicated in bold) Venue Attendance Record
Home Away Result
1 Saturday, 30 April (2:45 pm) St Kilda 12.16 (88) 11.2 (68) Lost by 20 points Junction Oval (A) 12,000 0–1
2 Saturday, 7 May (2:45 pm) Collingwood 7.9 (51) 11.11 (77) Lost by 26 points Glenferrie Oval (H) 9,000 0–2
3 Saturday, 14 May (2:45 pm) Footscray 10.18 (78) 7.10 (52) Lost by 26 points Western Oval (A) 11,000 0–3
4 Saturday, 21 May (2:45 pm) North Melbourne 8.8 (56) 20.13 (133) Lost by 77 points Glenferrie Oval (H) 8,000 0–4
5 Saturday, 28 May (2:45 pm) Carlton 14.12 (96) 6.16 (52) Lost by 44 points Princes Park (A) 10,000 0–5
6 Saturday, 4 June (2:45 pm) Melbourne 12.8 (80) 17.10 (112) Lost by 32 points Glenferrie Oval (H) 10,000 0–6
7 Saturday, 11 June (2:45 pm) Fitzroy 11.11 (77) 15.13 (103) Lost by 26 points Glenferrie Oval (H) 7,000 0–7
8 Saturday, 18 June (2:45 pm) Geelong 22.23 (155) 8.8 (56) Lost by 99 points Corio Oval (A) 8,500 0–8
9 Saturday, 25 June (2:45 pm) Richmond 9.6 (60) 9.20 (74) Lost by 14 points Glenferrie Oval (H) 10,000 0–9
10 Saturday, 2 July (2:45 pm) South Melbourne 13.19 (97) 5.11 (41) Lost by 56 points Lake Oval (A) 5,000 0–10
11 Saturday, 9 July (2:45 pm) Essendon 9.17 (71) 11.12 (78) Lost by 7 points Glenferrie Oval (H) 6,000 0–11
12 Saturday, 16 July (2:45 pm) St Kilda 7.12 (54) 8.11 (59) Lost by 5 points Glenferrie Oval (H) 5,000 0–12
13 Saturday, 23 July (2:45 pm) Collingwood 18.13 (121) 6.11 (47) Lost by 74 points Victoria Park (A) 7,000 0–13
14 Saturday, 30 July (2:45 pm) Footscray 8.19 (67) 11.19 (85) Lost by 18 points Glenferrie Oval (H) 5,000 0–14
15 Saturday, 6 August (2:45 pm) North Melbourne 11.10 (76) 15.9 (99) Won by 23 points Arden Street Oval (A) 4,000 1–14
16 Saturday, 27 August (2:45 pm) Carlton 10.10 (70) 14.14 (98) Lost by 28 points Glenferrie Oval (H) 8,000 1–15
17 Saturday, 3 September (2:45 pm) Melbourne 10.13 (73) 3.15 (33) Lost by 40 points Melbourne Cricket Ground (A) 5,268 1–16
18 Saturday, 10 September (2:45 pm) Richmond 16.23 (119) 6.17 (53) Lost by 66 points Punt Road Oval (A) 11,000 1–17
[1]

Ladder[edit]

1927 VFL Ladder
Team P W L D PF PA % Pts
1 Collingwood (P) 18 15 3 0 1559 1035 150.63 60
2 Richmond 18 14 4 0 1483 1102 134.57 56
3 Geelong 18 14 4 0 1594 1208 131.95 56
4 Carlton 18 13 5 0 1434 1178 121.73 52
5 Melbourne 18 12 6 0 1548 1169 132.42 48
6 South Melbourne 18 9 9 0 1373 1431 95.95 36
7 St Kilda 18 8 10 0 1178 1564 75.32 32
8 Essendon 18 6 11 1 1198 1237 96.85 26
9 Fitzroy 18 6 11 1 1335 1558 85.69 26
10 Footscray 18 6 12 0 1131 1325 85.36 24
11 North Melbourne 18 3 15 0 1085 1476 73.51 12
12 Hawthorn 18 1 17 0 1087 1722 63.12 4
Key: P = Played, W = Won, L = Lost, D = Drawn, PF = Points for, PA = Points against

References[edit]

  1. ^ "AFL Tables - 1927 Season Scores". afltables.com. Retrieved 13 September 2016.