1929 Hawthorn Football Club season

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Hawthorn Football Club
1929 season
President J.W. Kennon
Coach Albert Chadwick
Captain(s) Albert Chadwick
Home ground Glenferrie Oval
VFL Season 4–13 (10th)
Finals Series Did not qualify
Best and Fairest Ern Utting
Leading goalkicker Bert Hyde (47)
Highest home attendance 12,500 (Round 16 vs. Richmond)
Lowest home attendance 4,000 (Round 17 vs. Footscray)
Average home attendance 9,611

The 1929 Hawthorn Football Club season was the club's 5th season in the Victorian Football League

Fixture[edit]

Premiership Season[edit]

Rd Date and local time Opponent Scores (Hawthorn's scores indicated in bold) Venue Attendance Record
Home Away Result
1 Saturday, 27 April (2:45 pm) St Kilda 12.10 (82) 8.10 (58) Lost by 24 points Junction Oval (A) 13,000 0–1
2 Saturday, 4 May (2:45 ) Collingwood 11.7 (73) 18.18 (126) Lost by 53 points Glenferrie Oval (H) 12,000 0–2
3 Saturday, 11 May (2:45 pm) Carlton 13.28 (106) 9.14 (68) Lost by 38 points Princes Park (A) 17,000 0–3
4 Saturday, 18 May (2:45 pm) Essendon 10.10 (70) 10.15 (75) Lost by 5 points Glenferrie Oval (H) 12,000 0–4
5 Saturday, 25 May (2:45 pm) Richmond 16.22 (118) 12.5 (77) Lost by 41 points Punt Road Oval (A) 14,000 0–5
6 Monday, 3 June (2:45 pm) Footscray 16.24 (120) 7.15 (57) Lost by 63 points Western Oval (A) 14,000 0–6
7 Saturday, 15 June (2:45 pm) South Melbourne 15.8 (98) 11.13 (79) Won by 19 points Glenferrie Oval (H) 10,000 1–6
8 Saturday, 22 June (2:45 pm) Geelong 8.8 (56) 2.13 (25) Lost by 31 points Corio Oval (A) 4,000 1–7
9 Saturday, 29 June (2:45 pm) Fitzroy 13.15 (93) 8.10 (58) Won by 35 points Glenferrie Oval (H) 10,000 2–7
10 Saturday, 6 July (2:45 pm) North Melbourne 8.6 (54) 8.18 (66) Won by 12 points Arden Street Oval (A) 4,500 3–7
11 Saturday, 13 July (2:45 pm) Melbourne 5.13 (43) 7.11 (53) Lost by 10 points Glenferrie Oval (H) 8,000 3–8
12 Saturday, 20 July (2:45 pm) St Kilda 7.9 (51) 15.12 (102) Lost by 51 points Glenferrie Oval (H) 12,000 3–9
13 Saturday, 27 July (2:45 pm) Collingwood 22.10 (142) 7.14 (56) Lost by 86 points Victoria Park (A) 7,000 3–10
14 Saturday, 3 August (2:45 pm) Carlton 5.7 (37) 7.8 (50) Lost by 13 points Glenferrie Oval (H) 6,000 3–11
15 Saturday, 10 August (2:45 pm) Essendon 15.10 (100) 13.14 (92) Lost by 8 points Windy Hill (A) 11,000 3–12
16 Saturday, 17 August (2:45 pm) Richmond 8.10 (58) 11.14 (80) Lost by 22 points Glenferrie Oval (H) 12,500 3–13
17 Saturday, 24 August (2:45 pm) Footscray 10.17 (77) 5.3 (33) Won by 44 points Glenferrie Oval (H) 4,000 4–13
18 Saturday, 31 August (2:45 pm) South Melbourne 13.10 (88) 11.5 (71) Lost by 17 points Lake Oval (A) 8,000 4–14
[1]

Ladder[edit]

1929 VFL Ladder
Team P W L D PF PA % Pts
1 Collingwood (P) 18 18 0 0 1918 1117 171.71 72
2 Carlton 18 15 3 0 1589 1161 136.86 60
3 Richmond 18 12 5 1 1703 1399 121.73 50
4 St Kilda 18 12 6 0 1493 1146 130.28 48
5 Melbourne 18 11 6 1 1228 1164 105.50 46
6 Essendon 18 9 8 1 1349 1405 96.01 38
7 Geelong 18 8 10 0 1175 1082 108.60 32
8 South Melbourne 18 7 11 0 1338 1578 84.79 28
9 Footscray 18 6 11 1 1268 1464 86.61 26
10 Hawthorn 18 4 14 0 1170 1522 76.87 16
11 Fitzroy 18 3 15 0 1340 1827 73.34 12
12 North Melbourne 18 1 17 0 1070 1776 60.25 4
Key: P = Played, W = Won, L = Lost, D = Drawn, PF = Points for, PA = Points against

References[edit]

  1. ^ "AFL Tables - 1929 Season Scores". afltables.com. Retrieved 13 September 2016.