1930 Hawthorn Football Club season

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Jump to: navigation, search
Hawthorn Football Club
1930 season
President J.W. Kennon
Coach John Harris
Captain(s) John Harris
Home ground Glenferrie Oval
VFL Season 6–12 (10th)
Finals Series Did not quality
Best and Fairest Jack Sharpley
Leading goalkicker Bert Hyde (52)
Highest home attendance 28,000 (Round 3 vs. Carlton)
Lowest home attendance 5,000 (Round 18 vs. Melbourne)
Average home attendance 12,222

The 1930 Hawthorn Football Club season was the club's 6th season in the Victorian Football League.

Fixture[edit]

Premiership Season[edit]

Rd Date and local time Opponent Scores (Hawthorn's scores indicated in bold) Venue Attendance Record
Home Away Result
1 Saturday, 3 May (2:45 pm) St Kilda 16.7 (103) 14.8 (92) Won by 11 points Glenferrie Oval (H) 18,000 1–0
2 Saturday, 10 May (2:45 pm) Collingwood 11.12 (78) 10.10 (70) Lost by 8 points Victoria Park (A) 19,000 1–1
3 Saturday, 17 May (2:45 pm) Carlton 10.12 (72) 13.9 (87) Lost by 15 points Glenferrie Oval (H) 28,000 1–2
4 Saturday, 24 May (2:45 pm) Essendon 14.12 (96) 8.13 (61) Lost by 35 points Windy Hill (A) 15,000 1–3
5 Saturday, 31 May (2:45 pm) Richmond 8.11 (59) 11.11 (77) Lost by 18 points Glenferrie Oval (H) 18,000 1–4
6 Saturday, 7 June (2:45 pm) Footscray 8.9 (57) 8.8 (56) Lost by 1 point Western Oval (A) 9,000 1–5
7 Saturday, 14 June (2:45 pm) South Melbourne 17.11 (113) 9.10 (64) Lost by 49 points Lake Oval (A) 11,000 1–6
8 Saturday, 21 June (2:45 pm) Geelong 9.18 (72) 6.11 (47) Won by 25 points Glenferrie Oval (H) 8,000 2–6
9 Saturday, 28 June (2:45 pm) Fitzroy 18.11 (119) 13.17 (95) Lost by 24 points Brunswick Street Oval (A) 11,000 2–7
10 Saturday, 5 July (2:45 pm) North Melbourne 11.15 (81) 11.11 (77) Won by 4 points Glenferrie Oval (H) 7,000 3–7
11 Saturday, 12 July (2:45 pm) Melbourne 12.10 (82) 6.5 (41) Lost by 41 points Melbourne Cricket Ground (A) 8,723 3–8
12 Saturday, 19 July (2:45 pm) Richmond 15.19 (109) 7.7 (49) Lost by 60 points Punt Road Oval (A) 10,000 3–9
13 Saturday, 26 July (2:45 pm) Footscray 11.10 (76) 11.7 (73) Won by 3 points Glenferrie Oval (H) 9,000 4–9
14 Saturday, 16 August (2:45 pm) South Melbourne 11.7 (73) 14.10 (94) Lost by 21 points Glenferrie Oval (H) 10,000 4–10
15 Saturday, 23 August (2:45 pm) Geelong 18.17 (125) 6.7 (43) Lost by 82 points Corio Oval (A) 9,000 4–11
16 Saturday, 30 August (2:45 pm) Fitzroy 3.16 (34) 15.14 (104) Lost by 70 points Glenferrie Oval (H) 7,000 4–12
17 Saturday, 6 September (2:45 pm) North Melbourne 7.9 (51) 9.12 (66) Won by 15 points Arden Street Oval (A) 4,000 5–12
18 Saturday, 13 September (2:45 pm) Melbourne 12.18 (90) 10.17 (77) Won by 13 points Glenferrie Oval (H) 5,000 6–12
[1]

Ladder[edit]

1930 VFL Ladder
Team P W L D PF PA % Pts
1 Collingwood (P) 18 15 3 0 1931 1338 144.32 60
2 Carlton 18 15 3 0 1747 1234 141.57 60
3 Richmond 18 11 7 0 1450 1163 124.68 44
4 Geelong 18 11 7 0 1495 1259 118.75 44
5 Melbourne 18 11 7 0 1509 1441 104.72 44
6 Essendon 18 10 8 0 1495 1417 105.50 40
7 South Melbourne 18 9 9 0 1553 1553 100.00 36
8 St Kilda 18 8 10 0 1454 1435 101.32 32
9 Fitzroy 18 7 11 0 1411 1581 89.25 28
10 Hawthorn 18 6 12 0 1205 1558 77.34 24
11 Footscray 18 4 14 0 1164 1535 75.83 16
12 North Melbourne 18 1 17 0 969 1869 51.85 4
Key: P = Played, W = Won, L = Lost, D = Drawn, PF = Points for, PA = Points against

References[edit]

  1. ^ "AFL Tables - 1930 Season Scores". afltables.com. Retrieved 13 September 2016.