Mischief Management

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
  (Redirected from LeakyCon)
Jump to: navigation, search
Mischief Management, LLC
The logo for the company Mischief Management.png
Status Active
Genre
Country
  • United States
  • United Kingdom
Inaugurated 2009
Organized by Mischief Management

Mischief Management, LLC is a company that organizes annual fandom-based conferences, including BroadwayCon, GeekyCon, Con of Thrones, and LeakyCon.

About Mischief Management[edit]

Mischief Management was founded by convention veterans as a way to create events where everyone could celebrate their passions in a welcoming, inclusive, and—above all—fun environment that feels like home.[1] Mischief Management events feature a deep dive into the fan community. Whether it’s about a popular subject or a super-obscure fan theory, the programs, panels, and special events are carefully curated to give fans opportunities to investigate the topics they love most. A portion of the proceeds of all Mischief Management events are donated to charity.[2]

Events[edit]

BroadwayCon[edit]

BroadwayCon brought fan conventions to the theater community. Co-created by Mischief Management and Anthony Rapp,[3] BroadwayCon takes place in January in New York City,[4] it features panels, workshops, autograph sessions, and more with celebrities and theater stars. The first BroadwayCon was held in 2016 and featured a now-notorious blizzard which stranded 5,000 fans into the Hilton Midtown in New York City;[5] in 2017, the event moved to the Jacob K. Javits Center, where it will return to in 2018.

Con of Thrones[edit]

Con of Thrones is the largest-ever convention for fans of Game of Thrones, A Song of Ice and Fire, and the epic worlds of fantasy author George R. R. Martin. The event targets fans of both the books and the movies, with a huge focus on cosplay, the first Con of Thrones was held in June 2017 in Nashville, Tennessee. Featured guests included Iwan Rheon, Miltos Yerolemou, David J. Peterson, and Sam Coleman. It also featured several podcasts and online creators from the Game of Thrones fan community.[6] Con of Thrones 2018 will be held in Dallas, TX[7]

GeekyCon[edit]

A multi-fandom convention, GeekyCon is a home for passionate fan communities of all types. Primarily targeting the online fandoms of Doctor Who, Supernatural[disambiguation needed], Glee, Marvel Cinematic Universe, and Disney, GeekyCon grew out of the expansion of the Harry Potter fandom to include other online domains. With a huge focus on YouTube celebrities like Team Starkid and Tessa Netting, GeekyCon offered a place to celebrate storytelling, friendship, and fan communities, the first GeekyCon was held in 2015, and it was a rebrand of LeakyCon, Mischief Management's Harry Potter convention.[8] In 2016, it was announced that GeekyCon was on hiatus.[9]

LeakyCon[edit]

LeakyCon Logo.png

LeakyCon is a conference originally hosted by the Harry Potter fan site, The Leaky Cauldron. LeakyCon comes "from the Harry Potter fandom and celebrate[s] everything about it and everything about the pop culture fandoms our community is growing to include" and "is a place where fans can, finally, be their true selves. Where that’s the coolest thing in the world to be."[10]

LeakyCon has a variety of programming, ranging from author and actor panels to attendee-submitted meetups and discussions. Team Starkid has played a large role in their programming, most notably in 2012 with their production of A Very Potter 3D: A Very Potter Senior Year. Author John Granger, known as "the Hogwarts Professor", has given lectures about real-world themes and ideas within the Harry Potter books; in previous years, John and Hank Green have hosted various panels and meetups at the conference. LeakyCon features three different types of programming, the Lit Track is for all the authors, wanna-be published authors, and enthusiasts. Lit Track is run by Maureen Johnson and features panels, meetups and signings for anyone who enjoys a good book. Mainstage Programming indicates all the programming that happens on the mainstage of LeakyCon and usually features special guests, Wrock (Wizard rock) concerts, special panels, and performances. General Programming is anything from yoga with Evanna Lynch to panels about Severus Snape. LeakyCon opens up a programming call months before LeakyCon, which allows anyone to submit programming they would like to have at the conference.

Upcoming conferences[edit]

Dates Event Location Venue Notable guests
January 26–28, 2018 BroadwayCon New York, NY Jacob K. Javits Center Stephanie J Block, Sierra Boggess, Laura Benanti, Donna Murphy, Kelli O'Hara, Jenn Colella, Annie Golden, Lesli Margherita, Ariana Debose, Andrew Keenan-Bolger, Anthony Rapp, Ann Harada, Derek Klena
2018 Con of Thrones TBA TBA TBA
August 10–12, 2018 LeakyCon Dallas, TX Hyatt Regency Dallas TBA

Past conferences[edit]

Event Dates Location Venue Notable guests
LeakyCon May 21–24, 2009 Boston, Massachusetts Boston Park Plaza Hotel & Towers Hank Green, John Green, Michael Goldenberg, Esther Earl
LeakyCon July 13–17, 2011 Orlando, Florida Loews Royal Pacific Resort Chris Rankin, Darren Criss, Ellie Darcey-Alden, Evanna Lynch, Hank Green, John Green, Potter Puppet Pals, Scarlett Byrne, Team StarKid.
LeakyCon August 9–12, 2012 Chicago, Illinois Hilton Chicago Darren Criss, Evanna Lynch, Hank Green, John Green, Potter Puppet Pals, Robbie Jarvis, Team StarKid, The Lizzie Bennet Diaries.
LeakyCon June 27–30, 2013 Portland, Oregon Oregon Convention Center Amber Benson, Anthony Rapp, Devon Murray, Ellie Darcey-Alden, Hank Green, Jackie Emerson, Scarlett Byrne, Team StarKid, The Lizzie Bennet Diaries, Tom Lenk.
LeakyCon August 8–11, 2013 London, England Grand Connaught Rooms Alfie Enoch, Chris Rankin, Ellie Darcey-Alden, Evanna Lynch, Hank Green, Robbie Jarvis, Scarlett Byrne, Team StarKid.
LeakyCon July 30-August 3, 2014 Orlando, Florida Orange County Convention Center

Laurie Halse Anderson, Amber Benson, Holly Black, Scarlett Byrne, Ellie Darcey-Alden, Jackie Emerson, Emma Approved, John Green, Hannah Hart, Alaina Huffman, Robbie Jarvis, Kazu Kibuishi, Eduardo Lima, James Moran, Potter Puppet Pals, Rainbow Rowell, Nick Shirm, Charlotte Skeoch, Team StarKid

GeekyCon July 30-August 2, 2015 Orlando, Florida Orange County Convention Center Anthony Rapp, Kim Rhodes, Team StarKid, Veronica Roth
BroadwayCon January 22–24, 2016 New York, New York New York Hilton Midtown Anthony Rapp, Jonathan Groff, Paige Davis, Lin-Manuel Miranda
GeekyCon July 29–31, 2016 Orlando, Florida Orange County Convention Center Thomas Sanders, Ty Simpkins, Jon Cozart, Kim Rhodes, Osric Chau, Jackie Emerson, Potter Puppet Pals, David Peterson, James Moran
LeakyCon October 19–23, 2016 Burbank, California Marriott Burbank Hotel Pierre Bohanna, Bryn Court, Ellie Darcey-Alden, Draco and the Malfoys, Lauren Fairweather, Laurent Guinci, Harry and the Potters, Cheryl Klein, the Mudbloods, the Parselmouths, Nick Shirm, Charlotte Skeoch, Tonks and the Aurors, the Whomping Willows
Con of Thrones June 30–July 2, 2017 Nashville, Tennessee Gaylord Opryland Resort & Convention Center Iwan Rheon, Roger Ashton-Griffiths, Kate Dickie, Miltos Yerolemou, David Peterson, Rupert Vansittart
LeakyCon August 31-September 3, 2017 Dublin, Ireland Citywest Hotel Evanna Lynch, Dan Fogler, Katie Leung, Alfred Enoch, Afshan Azad, Charlotte Skeoch, Louis Cordice, Hero Fiennes-Tiffin, Team StarKid, Harry and the Potters

See also[edit]

References[edit]

External links[edit]