New York State government holidays

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Jump to: navigation, search

There are twelve observed New York State holidays for state employees. Under the Attendance Rules, a holiday that falls on a Sunday is observed on the following Monday. Lincoln's Birthday and Election Day are deemed floating holidays and can optionally be observed on a later date. A holiday is observed by employees scheduled to work that day; it is not available as a regular or floating holiday for other employees.

New York State holiday name 2016 2017 2018
New Year's Day Friday, January 1 Monday, January 2 (observed) Monday, January 1
Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Day Monday, January 18 Monday, January 16 Monday, January 15
Lincoln's Birthday Friday, February 12 (float) Monday, February 13 (observed, float) Monday, February 12 (float)
Washington's Birthday (Observed) Monday, February 15 Monday, February 20 Monday, February 19
Memorial Day Monday, May 30 Monday, May 29 Monday, May 28
Independence Day Monday, July 4 Tuesday, July 4 Wednesday, July 4
Labor Day Monday, September 5 Monday, September 4 Monday, September 3
Columbus Day Monday, October 10 Monday, October 9 Monday, October 8
Election Day Tuesday, November 8 (float) Tuesday, November 7 (float) Tuesday, November 6 (float)
Veterans' Day Friday, November 11 Saturday, November 11 Monday, November 12 (observed)
Thanksgiving Day Thursday, November 24 Thursday, November 23 Thursday, November 22
Christmas Day Monday, December 26 (observed) Monday, December 25 Tuesday, December 25

Additional New York City holidays[edit]

In addition to the official New York state holidays, New York City schools also receive the following holidays:[1]

The reasoning behind the additional holidays is said to be to recognize the cultural diversity of the city where "... homes where over 185 languages are spoken and more than 42 percent of the students come from homes where English is not the primary language."[2]

References[edit]